Board of Education

The MPSD School Board consists of seven members who are responsible for establishing policies in accordance with state law regarding students, personnel, educational programs, facilities, equipment, and relations with the community. The Board establishes the budget and has fiscal control. The superintendent serves as the Chief Executive Officer and offers recommendations to the Board when developing and administering District philosophy, goals, and revisions to Board policies.

Unlike the City Council and County Board, members are elected “at large,”  meaning they represent the entire school district and not any designated portion. Citizens may contact any or all Board members but should be aware that members have no authority as individuals, only as they meet together as a Board. 

Correspondence can be sent to Board Secretary Laurie Braun, MPSD Administration Office 2902 Lindbergh Drive Manitowoc, WI 54220.  Please contact her with questions at 920-686-4783 or email at


President Dave Nickels
District Voicemail:  (920) 663-9556
(920) 684-0912

First Elected April 2016 - term expires April 2022                            

Vice President Lisa Johnston 
District Voicemail:  (920) 663-9546 
 (920) 726-4992
First Elected April 2018 - term expires April 2021

Board Member Richard (Dick) Nitsch
District Voicemail:  (920)
(920) 242-2299 
First Elected June 2019 - term expires April 2021

Board Member Meredith Sauer
District Voicemail:  (920) 663-9536 
(920) 860-6881
First Elected April 2019 - term expires April 2022

Board Member Catherine Shallue
District Voicemail:  (920) 663-9547 
(920) 860-2676
First Elected April 2012 - term expires April 2021

Board Member Kerry Trask (appointment until April 2021)
District Voicemail: 
(920) 682-1710
Vacancy Term expires April 2022      

Board Member Kathy Willis
District Voicemail:  (920) 663-9538
(920) 860-6988
First Elected April 2020 - term expires April 2023

Buildings and Grounds:  Chair Catherine Shallue, Lisa Johnston & Trask
Curriculum: Chair Meredith Sauer, Kathy Willis & Trask
Finance and Budget:  Chair Richard Nitsch, Dave Nickels & Catherine Shallue
Personnel:  Chair Lisa Johnston, Meredith Sauer & Kathy Willis
Employee Relations:  President Dave Nickels, Vice-President/Clerk Lisa Johnston, Treasurer- Vacancy
City Recreation Board:  Dave Steavpack (Representative)
Administrative Relations:  Board President Dave Nickels, Finance Chair Richard Nitsch &  Personnel Chair Lisa Johnston

Drug-Free Schools/AODA/Human Growth & Development -  Kathy Willis
School Forest -  Dave Nickels
Gifted & Talented - Meredith Sauer
Business Education Partnership Council - Richard Nitsch

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Manitowoc Public School District